March - 2015
Rotating Ball on Putting Green Without Marking Position
I see this Rule broken often, and I wonder if people realize that it isn't allowed under the Rules of Golf. What am I talking about?
Q. A player rotates his ball on the putting green to line up the trademark with the hole. He did not lift the ball, mark its position or change its position. Is there a penalty?
A. Yes, one stroke for touching the ball other than as provided for in the Rules (Rule 18-2a). Under Rules 16-1b and 20-1, a ball on the putting green may be lifted (or touched and rotated) after its position has been marked. If the player had marked the position of the ball before rotating it, there would have been no penalty.