October - 2013
Last Saturday was such a beautiful day. Wispy clouds and views forever. After I tapped in for par on fifteen, I thought I'd take advantage of the moment and go up the hill and watch my playing partners finish the hole, while I enjoyed the spectacular view.
Just as I was reaching the cart, I heard "What the! What do I do now?"
One of the players (lets call him John) was raising his arm's and re-creating some form of a putting stroke, with the ball a foot away.
Anyway, another player close to him, (lets call him Lee) instantly offered advice, and said "You have to replace your ball, because you caused it to move accidentally, and you have to add a penalty stroke for moving a ball at rest".
Kudos to Mr. Groon, (double oops!) who knew the answer right away. Lee is very good with the rules, and didn't hesitate to help poor (Hawaii tired) John. Do I sound jealous?
I thought this would be a good re-fresher on the rules, because sometimes when you're tired, you just can't think clearly…
The Decision for Ball At Rest Moved, is under RULE 18.
Ball in Play Moved Accidentally by Practice Swing