March - 2013

When I look through the Decisions book, I often see something that never occurred to me before.

Decision 16-c/1.5 was quite interesting and something that could easily happen.


Ball Mark Partially on and Partially Off Putting Green Is on Line of Play

Q. If a player's ball lies just off the putting green and there is a ball mark on his line of play, he is entitled to repair the ball mark if it is on the green (Rule 16-1c), but not if it is off the green (Rule 13-2). What is the ruling if a ball mark on the line of play is partially on and partially off the green?

A. Since it is impracticable to allow the repair of only that part of the ball mark which is on the putting green, the player may repair the entire ball mark.

Derek Duesler