February - 2012
This area of the Rule's of Golf sometimes is a little confusing- "Can I practice my putting, no one's behind us?" I think many of us do it without thinking during a regular round of golf, and then all of a sudden playing in a Tournament, or maybe during Match play, you think "I never really read that section in the Rule's, and I'm not really sure if it's allowed or not- darn!" Well, here's your chance to be sure. Just take a few moment's and read Rule 7. Practice.
All defined terms are in italics and are listed alphabetically in the Definitions section.
7-1. Before or Between Rounds
a. Match Play
b. Stroke Play
When two or more rounds of a stroke-play competition are to be played over consecutive days, a competitor must not practice between those rounds on any competition course remaining to be played, or test the surface of any putting green on such course by rolling a ball or roughening or scraping the surface.
Exception: Practice putting or chipping on or near the first teeing ground or any practice area before starting a round or play-off is permitted.
PENALTY FOR BREACH OF RULE 7-1b:
Note: The Committee may, in the conditions of a competition (Rule 33-1), prohibit practice on the competition course on any day of a match-play competition or permit practice on the competition course or part of the course (Rule 33-2c) on any day of or between rounds of a stroke-play competition.
7-2. During Round
a. the putting green of the hole last played,
b. any practice putting green, or
Exception: When play has been suspended by the Committee, a player may, prior to resumption of play, practice (a) as provided in this Rule, (b) anywhere other than on the competition course and (c) as otherwise permitted by the Committee.
PENALTY FOR BREACH OF RULE 7-2:
In the event of a breach between the play of two holes, the penalty applies to the next hole.
(a) practice on or near the putting green of the hole last played, and
(b) rolling a ball on the putting green of the hole last played.